Dad Days

Dad missed not having a boy. No, he never said so in so many words. But because my parents’ first born, Charles Robert Richert, Jr., whose tiny gravesite is at St. Peter’s Church in Lanesville, Indiana, was never mentioned by my dad in front of my sister or me, spoke volumes about the depth of loss he must have felt.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. Dad loved Sandy and me with all his heart. In fact, I defy you to find a better Dad! 

And he had a devoted nephew he was close to, and then sons-in-law, and his first grandchild was a boy, followed by two girls, and then another grandson. Dad always felt blessed when it came to his children and grandchildren. But I think there was always a little sadness around the edges of his heart. 

dad w train copy

For the first time ever on a Father’s Day, I’m imagining my dad and my brother celebrating, hanging out, playing with a train set or a round of golf, or casting a couple fishing lines into Blue River.

Whatever you’re doing, I hope you guys are having the time of your lives!! 


“Windows to the Soul,” a novel by Diana Black from Vabella Publishing:  An extraordinary day in the life of an ordinary man, Gabriel Hart–a grieving young father and widower–and the untold ways hope, loyalty and forgiveness are tested to the limit.  Get your copy today! Amazon and Barnes&Noble


https://www.facebook.com/DianaBlack2017/Facebook    A_instagram_resized Instagram  A_twitter_resized Twitter

 

About The BLOG and The BOOK

#WindowsToTheSoul    #DianaBlack

Leave a Reply

